Thanks for the money, y’all! (2)

I get about $50 a month in food stamps, or whatever they call it now that it’s all electronic. Which doesn’t sound like much, but since my salary most weeks is just about enough to pay for food and utilities, it comes in mighty handy.

Last night I needed (yes, needed) (yes, really) some Ben & Jerry’s. So after work, since it was cold and icy and dark and slippery and sleeting and past my bedtime, I decided it would be the perfect time to walk two miles down to the store and do my weekly shopping before the weather got really dicey.

It’s the end of the month and I don’t have much cash, but I didn’t need that much stuff, and I figured my food stamps would cover it. I called the 800 number to get my balance.

One hundred and seventy-four dollars and ninety-six cents!

No idea where that came from. I’m sure I spent my December money all up, having a guest and all. Maybe it was a clerical error? Some politician trying to buy my vote? The result of widespread mathematical illiteracy?

I don’t know, but I’m spending it.

One response to “Thanks for the money, y’all! (2)

  1. Yahoo! Found money is always exciting! I’m thrilled when I put on a jacket I haven’t worn in a while and find a couple of bucks. Congrats and have fun spending it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

