Caffeine Withdrawal

Ow ow ow ow ow ow ow.

My head hurts. My legs hurt. My lower back hurts. Light hurts. Blatting fire truck horns definitely hurt. (I know this because a parade went right by our door at work yesterday.)

People hurt. I got very angry with the entire human race yesterday, when two Tibetan ladies kept grabbing my wrist to admire my bracelet, as if I were some kind of talking display unit. I was nice to them. They’re customers.

On Sundays, one of my review groups meet as soon as I get home from work, and this particular Sunday has to have been my most worthless moment in reviewing ever. It was a good chapter too, lots of layers, but all I wanted to do was take a hot bath and go to bed. (Sorry, Seph!)

I’ve been drinking coffee for almost 40 years. Way, way too much of it a lot of that time. It was starting to mess with my body in very apparent ways. So I put all my remaining coffee down in the flower beds as mulch. I cut down on salt and stopped drinking red wine at the same time, but I hardly even noticed. I’m too busy pressing my fingers into my skull.

I asked Ashley, who also had to give up coffee for health reasons, whether there is any meaning or purpose to a life without coffee, and she assured me that after a week things get better. She couldn’t believe I was quitting cold turkey. I’m not sure I believe it either.

As one sympathizing customer put it, “Man, that’s brutal!”

A photo of a cup of coffee.

Image via Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

